About me

Howdy, fellow visitor! Just look around – there is a lot to discover!

Who am I?

My name is Danny. I have a lot of interests, some of which I give more care to than others. The ones I care about a lot are programming and cooking, photography (since a year) and especially that one thing I don’t have a word for. I just call it summarized “Get some broken things for as little money as possible, take them apart and fix them”.

Why schmatzler.de / OSC One?

schmatzler.de has already been born in 2008. I got the nickname “schmatzler” even sooner – some funny guys at the school I attended in my early years called me that all the time. The nickname received so much attention that even today some people call me that way. Naming my personal blog in the same way was just obvious.

OSC One was started in 2011 as a rough concept. At that time I had nothing to do, but instead of staring holes into the ceiling I decided to do something that made more sense.

I had a big interest in doing amateur movies. Short movies don’t have to be bad and can be shot with very little effort and without using the latest technology.

So I put my sweat into repairing cameras for a few weeks, rounded up some good friends and gave it a go. Most of the people lost interest very quickly and the project ebbed in the sand. What was left: A lot of good equipment, experience in handling cameras and the name OSC One.

Where and what do I shoot?

I just love the night. There is nothing more beautiful than empty streets that aren’t crowded with cars (just from time to time, a single one comes along), comfortably smoldering lights and fresh, unconsumed air. The night has always been special to me and because of that, I am mostly taking photos in the darkest hours. I try to get the best impression of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

But even during the day my camera is almost always in the pocket. Whenever I see something interesting, it gets written onto the SD card.

What do I brag about?

In short: About everything that comes into my mind. Sure, a big interest of mine is taking photos. Because of that I will upload some of my favorite pictures here from time to time.

The other things that get some of my interest are mostly of a technical nature. I will try doing something like repair guides that may help other people with their problems. Additionally, I will take a step into the world of Android, since I own two android phone and I love taking apart their software. In general, my interest in Linux is very high. On the contrary, my interest in Windows is very small. I just had to get my priorities straight! Have fun reading my blog! 🙂

Über mich

Moin lieber Besucher, schau dich um – es gibt eine Menge zu entdecken!

Wer bin ich?

Mein Name ist Danny. Ich habe viele Hobbys, von denen ich einige mehr und andere weniger gut pflege. Zu den gut gepflegten gehören das Programmieren und Kochen, seit einiger Zeit nun auch die Fotografie und ganz besonders so eine Sache für die es kein Substantiv gibt, aber die man zusammengefasst als „Besorge dir für möglichst wenig Geld defekte Dinge, schraub sie auf und mach‘ sie wieder heil“ bezeichnen könnte.

Warum schmatzler.de / OSC One?

schmatzler.de wurde bereits 2008 geschaffen. Den Spitznamen „schmatzler“ erhielt ich allerdings schon sehr viel früher – durch einige Witzbolde an der Schule, die ich damals besuchte. Der Name hatte so viel Erfolg, dass mich noch heute viele Leute mit diesem ansprechen. Es lag nahe, meinen persönlichen Blog daher so zu nennen.

OSC One startete 2011 als grob zusammengewürfeltes Konzept. Ich hatte damals viel Freizeit und wollte diese, anstatt Trübsal zu blasen, mit etwas Sinnvollem ausfüllen.

Dabei fiel mein Augenmerk auf das Amateurfilmen. Kleine Kurzfilme müssen nicht schlecht sein und können mit vergleichsweise geringem Aufwand und ohne extrem aktuelle Technik dennoch gut produziert werden.

Ich setzte mich also ein paar Wochen hin, reparierte einige Kameras und trommelte einen Haufen guter Freunde zusammen. Nach einigen Shows zusammen verloren die meisten relativ schnell das Interesse und das Projekt verebbte im Sand. Was mir blieb: Viel gutes Equipment, eine Menge Erfahrung im Umgang mit Kameras und der Name OSC One.

Was fotografiere ich?

Ich liebe die Nacht. Nichts ist schöner als leere Straßen auf denen vereinzelt einige Autos entlangziehen, gemütlich glimmende Laternen und frische, unverbrauchte Luft. Die Nacht hat für mich schon immer einen besonderen Reiz ausgeübt, weshalb ich hauptsächlich in den dunklen Stunden durch die Gegend ziehe um Mecklenburg-Vorpommern besonders gut festzuhalten.

Meine Kamera habe ich allerdings auch am Tag fast immer dabei. Wenn ich an etwas Interessantem vorbekomme, wird es auf die Speicherkarte gebannt.

Worüber blogge ich?

Kurzum: Über alles, was mir in den Sinn kommt. Natürlich versuche ich mein Hobby – die Fotografie – auszuleben und werde daher ab und an einige Motive hier reinstellen.

Die anderen Dinge die mich interessieren sind meist technischer Natur. Ich versuche so etwas wie Reparaturanleitungen zu erstellen, die anderen Menschen helfen könnten. Und natürlich mache ich ab und an einen Abstecher in die Welt von Android, da ich zwei Android-Smartphones besitze, deren Software ich sehr gern auseinandernehme. Generell ist mein Interesse an Linux sehr groß. Dafür ist mein Interesse an Windows eher klein. Man muss halt Prioritäten setzen. Viel Spaß beim Lesen! 🙂